Skip to content

The Event

On April 25, 2014 we announced the winners of the first annual Art and Olfaction Awards at an intimate ceremony at the Goethe Institut, Los Angeles. The ceremony was followed by an informal after-party at The Standard, Hollywood.

> Learn more about the event here

The Winners

Winner: Art and Olfaction Award, Independent Category
ASHOKA, by Neela Vermeire Creations
Created by Neela Vermeire and Bertrand Duchaufour
Presented by Steven Gontarski
Learn more about Ashoka here.

Winner: Art and Olfaction Award, Independent Category
Created by Yosh Han and Olivia Jan
Presented by James McHugh
Learn more about Konig here

Winner: Art and Olfaction Award, Artisan Category
CALLING ALL ANGELS, by April Aromatics
Created by Tanja Bochnig
Presented by Hank Jenkins
Learn more about Calling All Angels here

Winner: Art and Olfaction Award, Artisan Category
JOHN FRUM, by Aether Arts Perfumes
Created by Amber Jobin
Presented by Sarah Horowitz-Thran
Learn more about John Frum here

The Finalists

We were astounded by the quality of the submissions we received in this, our inaugural year. With blends coming in from 14 countries and 5 continents, there was an abundance of intelligence, originality and creativity on show. Indeed,  every single submission had something special about it, something unique, and something worth celebrating. Our judges had a very hard job to do.

To compound the difficulty of the work, we asked them to abstain from discussing their scores with one another, in the hopes of avoiding undue influence. And so the judges were faced simply with a succession of vials – marked only with a tracking number and a short anonymized statement of intent. Taking breaks when they felt overwhelmed, they spent up to four hours at a time smelling, scoring, revising, and often re-scoring the work, and came for multiple judging sessions over a period of three weeks. Thanks to submission manager Ilene Hoffman‘s incredible devotion to running the fairest competition possible, every submission was assessed by every judge. Suffice to say: A lot of thought, and lot of positive intention went into each score.

And we think you’ll agree that this thoughtfulness was reflected in our selection of finalists. Diverse in inspiration (from ripe blackberries to bathhouses, ancient emperors to New York streets), the perfumes represented here nonetheless all share several very crucial qualities: Inventiveness in intention, quality in execution, and excellence across the board.


Blackbird by Olympic Orchids
Calling All Angels by April Aromatics
Golden Hour by Artemisia Natural Perfumes
John Frum by Aether Arts
Lampblack by Bruno Fazzolari
Magnolia Esxentialis by Cristiano Canali
Mosaic by Imaginary Authors
Owl by Sweet Anthem Perfumes
Sensei by Piotr Czarnecki
Vesper by Mik Moi

> More information about the finalists in the Artisan Category.


Ashoka by Neela Vermeire Creations (with Bertrand Duchaufour)
Blood Sweat Tears by Atelier De Geste
Christopher Street by Charenton Macerations (with Ralf Schwieger, Mane USA)
Feu Follet by Friede Modin
FR!01/02 by Fragrance Republ!c
Jardin Mystique by Friede Modin
König by Yosh
Only For Her by Hayari Parfums (with Sidonie Lancesseur, Robertet)
Sahraa Oud by Fragrance DuBois

One submission in the Independent Category was unfortunately disqualified.

> More information about the finalists in the Independent Category

Our Judges

We’d like to extend a HUGE thank you to our judges, who worked extremely hard to carefully and fairly assess each and every submission.

Round One Judges:

Ashley Eden Kessler: IAO Perfumer in Residence
Brent Leonesio: Perfumer
Daniel Krasofski: Educator
Hank Jenkins: Plant Provocateur
James McHugh: Historian
Koan Jeff Baysa: Curator, Doctor
Marcos Lutyens: Artist
Steven Gontarski: Manager Scent Bar, Artist
Sherri Sebastian: Perfumer
The Scent Bar team: Carlos Alvarez, Yvettra Grantham, Laura Johnson and Rachel Sondag.

Round Two Judges:

Christophe Laudamiel: Perfumer
Luca Turin: Scientist, Critic
Mandy Aftel: Perfumer, Writer
Sarah Horowitz-Thran: Perfumer, Educator
Stefan Sagmeister: Designer, Filmmaker

> More information about the judges (and links to bios)

Our Sponsors and Partners

The First Annual Art and Olfaction Awards was presented thanks to our supporters and partners:

L’Artisan Parfumeur
luckyscent / scent bar

Goethe Institut

The Standard

Beski Projekts
Hollywood Blonde

The Fragrant Man

Consulate General of the Republic of Poland (Los Angeles)
Felicity Wilson-Brown
Miniature Perfume Shoppe

> More info about our partners here

For more information and press materials on each perfume, please contact