Skip to content

Awarded to just five perfumers a year, The Art and Olfaction Award is a highly competitive and highly selective award, designed to raise interest and awareness for independent and artisan perfumers and experimental practitioners with scent from all countries. Our hope is that by shining a spotlight on perfumery’s most outstanding creators, we –  in turn – will help generate support for independent practices in perfumery, as a whole.

Award_BackThe award celebrates creativity, innovation and excellence. We accomplish this through an annual juried award, which launched with our first awards ceremony in April, 2014 at Goethe Institut Los Angeles, generously supported by our ongoing partners at LuckyScent / Scent Bar.

In 2015, we expanded upon our existing offering by adding The Art and Olfaction Sadakichi Award, created to highlight scent work being done in the context of other creative practices. This experimental award joined our artisan and independent awards to create a broad snapshot of the diversity, excellence and potential in the field.

2015 also marked the beginning of our partnership with Esxence Milan. As part of our collaboration with Esxence, we announce the finalists in a special yearly event at the conference.

In 2016 we held the awards at Hammer Museum in Los Angeles, as part of their public programming. The expanded event was hosted by Zackary Drucker, and was free, open to the public, and packed with over 200 attendees.

in 2017, we will host the fourth annual Art and Olfaction Awards in Europe – announcing the finalists at Esxence in Milan (March 2017), and holding the award ceremony itself in Berlin (May 2017).

The Art and Olfaction Awards is made possible by our partners.



050716_AIX_S_195The Art and Olfaction Awards are specifically designed to celebrate the work done by artisan perfumers, independent perfume houses, and creative practitioners working with scent in the context of arts or experimental practices.

Our goals are fairness and impartiality, which we accomplish by implementing and improving upon existing awards structures. These include:

  • Blind judging
  • Multiple-phase judging
  • Clear judging parameters
  • Affordable submission fees
  • A public announcement of the finalists and winners
  • A panel of judges reflecting a diversity of fields and interests


QUESTIONS? Email us at